There were some spectacular sinkings, so the lifeguards at the Ronny Ferrel Hannibal Aquatic Center had a hard time choosing a Titanic Award winner.

But everyone had fun at the eighth annual Cardboard Boat Races Saturday. Henry Stroot won the Fastest Boat award for the second time.

Emily Hultgren, aquatics director, said the lifeguards and staff made sure all the participants stayed safe as the cardboard boats didn’t always keep them afloat. The lifeguards also choose the winners in four of the five categories.

  • The Fastest Boat award went to Henry Stroot, 9, of Quincy, Ill., and Tyler Daly, 9, of Quincy.
  • The Can’t Believe it’s Cardboard award went to Elliot Sievert, 9, of Quincy and Donovan Spoonmore, 10, of Quincy
  • The Best Decorated award went to Grant Sievert, 6, of Quincy, and Connor Hoffman, 6, of Quincy
  • The Tom and Becky’s Choice Award went to Jude Meininger, 9, and Beckett Meininger, 11, of Hannibal
  • The Titanic Award went to Matti Harvey, 16, and Beck Harvey, 12, both of Hannibal

The other boaters were: Nikolai Astorino and Kirklin Hudson of Hannibal; Ashton Rozier and Ariah McClarney of Frankford; Annalise Jones and Sadie Jones of Hannibal; Lane and Rhys Orscheln of Hannibal; Blakely Hartman of Hannibal and Madelynn Rickey of New London; Caius Quintero and Edward Gulentz of Hannibal; and Carson Amick and Richard Crane of Hannibal.




Can’t Believe It’s Cardboard

Fastest Boat

Best Decorated

Titanic Award

Tom and Becky’s Choice