Beautiful weather Saturday greeted disc golfers from the Tri-State area for the Don Crane Memorial Huck Finn Open disc golf tournament at Huckleberry Park. The first round was at the disc golf course in Hannibal and the second round was at Flower City Park.
Next year’s tournament will only be in Hannibal.
John Shaw of Excitement Disc Golf said disc golfers always enjoy playing at the Hannibal course. “There were about 75 participants. It’s a PDGA (Professional Disc Golf Association) C-Tier tournament and it brings a lot of very competitive players to this course.”
Don Crane, who designed the disc golf course at Huckleberry Park, died in 2016. Crane voluntarily organized, facilitated and implemented disc golf tournaments at the Hannibal disc golf course. The disc golf course at Huckleberry Park opened in 2006. The course was expanded recently and plans are in the works for another expansion.
The winners were:
Open division:
• Alan Wagner of Montrose, Iowa, first
• Stephen Mattingly of Elizabethtown, Ky., second
• Drew Cantrell of Manchester, third
Pro Masters 40 +
• Keo Sabengsy of O’Fallon, Ill., first
• Chris Claring of Ankeny, Iowa, second
• Mike Survant of Troy, third
• Garrett Rhine of Festus, first
• Bradley Newton of Hannibal, second
• Ben Vatterott of St. Louis, third
Amateur Masters 40+
• Eric Dochterman of Keokuk, Iowa, first
• Gary Polkinghorne of O’Fallon, second
• William Platt of Jacksonville, Ill., third
Amateur Masters Women 50+
• Debbie Polkinghorne of O’Fallon, first
• Angela Rueter of Marion, Ill., second
Amateur Masters 55+
• Roger Beachy of Mount Pleasant, Iowa, first
• Rodney Schild of Quincy, second
• Richard Sheets of Fort Madison, Iowa, third
• Myles Hummel of Quincy, first
• Caleb Scott of Pekin, Ill., second
• Daniel Soebbing of Quincy, third
• Michael Leake of Hannibal, first
• Virginia Polkinghorne of O’Fallon, second
• Caleb Kramer of Keokuk, Iowa, third